AU field mission to South Sudan completed

The African Union (AU) Peace and Security Council (PSC) undertook a field mission to the Republic of South Sudan from 18 to 20 February 2020.

The delegation set to evaluate the status of implementation of the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS) signed on 12 September 2018, given that the Revitalized Transitional Government of National Unity (R-TGONU) is to be formed on 22 February 2020. Furthermore, the Mission expressed AU’s solidarity with the People and Government of South Sudan

The PSC delegation was headed by His Excellency Ambassador Mohamed Idriss Farah, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Djibouti to the African Union, in his capacity as the Chairperson of the PSC for the month of February 2020. It also included representatives of the fifteen Member States, namely: Ambassadors of Algeria, Salah Francis Alhamdi; Angola, Francisco Da Cruz; Burundi, Joel Nkurabagaya; Equatorial Guinea, Cristantos Obama Ondo; Lesotho, Mafa Sejanamane; Morocco, Mohamed Arrouchi; Nigeria, Bankole Adeoye; and Togo, Sebade Toba; as well as Representatives from Gabon, Kenya, Liberia, Rwanda, Sierra Leone and Zimbabwe.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may like

In the news
Load More